IND vs AUS ICC World Cup 2023 Awards Winners List: ICC Player of the Match, ICC Player of the Tournament, Golden Bat and Golden Ball

2023 ICC World Cup Awards: Australia beat India by six wickets in the final of the World Cup at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday (November 19) to win their record sixth World Cup title. India became the first team to move into the 50-over World Cup title clash when they beat New Zealand by 70 runs in Semi-final 1 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Wednesday (November 15).

Australia also entered the World Cup final when they beat South Africa by three wickets in a low-scoring match at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday (November 16).

Fans are always keen to know the ICC Player of the Match in Final and the ICC Player of the Tournament Award.

Along with that, they are also curious to know the winners of the Golden Bat and the Golden Ball awards.

In this article, ZeeBiz takes you through the list of the awardees in different categories in World Cup finals and the overall tournament.

ICC World Cup Awards

Player of the Match awards in the World Cup final are being given ever since the first World Cup was played in England in 1975.

It was renamed the ICC Player of the Match in Final in 1992.

While the Golden Bat award, currently termed the ICC Golden Bat award, and the Golden Ball award, currently named the ICC Golden Ball award have been presented since the 1975 World Cup, the ICC Player of the Tournament award was introduced as late as the 1992 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

In the first World Cup, the West Indies skipper Clive Lloyd was awarded the Player of the Match award for his 102-run innings against Australia at the Lord’s, London.

While New Zealand’s Glenn Turner won the Golden Bat award for most runs at 333 at the 1975 World Cup, the Golden Ball award went to Gary Gilmour of Australia and Bernard Julien of the West Indies for 11 wickets each.

When the ICC introduced the ICC Player of the Tournament award in 1992, New Zealand skipper Martin Crowe became the first player to win it for his 456 runs in the World Cup.

ICC Player of the Tournament Awards

Year Player Stats
1992 New Zealand Martin Crowe 456 runs
1996 Sri Lanka Sanath Jayasuriya 221 runs and 6 wickets
1999 South Africa Lance Klusener 281 runs and 17 wickets
2003 India Sachin Tendulkar 673 runs and 2 wickets
2007 Australia Glenn McGrath 26 wickets
2011 India Yuvraj Singh 362 Runs and 15 wickets
2015 Australia Mitchell Starc 22 Wickets
2019 New Zealand Kane Williamson 578 runs and 2 wickets; captaincy
2023 India Virat Kohli 765 runs

ICC Player of the Match Awards

Year Player Stats  
1975 Cricket West Indies Clive Lloyd 102  
1979 Cricket West Indies Viv Richards 138*  
1983 India Mohinder Amarnath 3/12 and 26  
1987 Australia David Boon 75  
1992 Pakistan Wasim Akram 33*(18) and 3/49  
1996 Sri Lanka Aravinda de Silva 107* and 3/42  
1999 Australia Shane Warne Apr-33  
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting 140*  
2007 Australia Adam Gilchrist 149  
2011 India Mahendra Singh Dhoni 91*  
2015 Australia James Faulkner Mar-36  
2019 England Ben Stokes 84*  
2023 Australia Travis Head 0/4 and 137  

Golden Bat Awards

World Cup Top runscorer Runs
1975 New Zealand Glenn Turner 333
1979 Cricket West Indies Gordon Greenidge 253
1983 England David Gower 384
1987 England Graham Gooch 471
1992 New Zealand Martin Crowe 456
1996 India Sachin Tendulkar 523
1999 India Rahul Dravid 461
2003 India Sachin Tendulkar 673
2007 Australia Matthew Hayden 659
2011 Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan 500
2015 New Zealand Martin Guptill 547
2019 India Rohit Sharma 648
2023 India Virat Kohli 765

Golden Ball Awards

World Cup Top wicket taker Wickets
1975 Gary Gilmour (AU) Bernard Julien (WI) 11
1979 England Mike Hendrick 10
1983 India Roger Binny 18
1987 Australia Craig McDermott 18
1992 Pakistan Wasim Akram 18
1996 India Anil Kumble 15
1999 Geoff Allott (NZ), Shane Warne (AU) 20
2003 Sri Lanka Chaminda Vaas 23
2007 Australia Glenn McGrath 26
2011 Zaheer Khan (IND), Shahid Afridi (PAK) 21
2015 Mitchell Starc (AU), Trent Boult (NZ) 22
2019 Australia Mitchell Starc 27
2023 Mohammed Shami 24



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *